Retweeting another Tweet
What is a Retweet?
A Tweet that you forward to your followers is known as a Retweet. You can use our built-in Retweet feature or you can manually Retweet content by copying and pasting it into a new Tweet of your own. Both are outlined below.
How to Retweet without adding your own commentary:
- Hover over a Tweet.
- Click the Retweet icon.
- A pop-up will show you the Tweet you're about to Retweet and will ask you to confirm.
- Click the Retweet button.
- The Tweet will then be shared with all of your followers!
How to undo a Retweet:
- Find the Retweet you’d like to undo.
- The Retweet icon will be highlighted.
- Click the Retweet icon and the Tweet will be removed from your profile timeline. Note: Undoing a Retweet will remove it from other timelines, however it may still appear on mobile devices displaying cached timelines or in cross-postings to Facebook.
How to Retweet and add your own comments (RT):
- Copy the content of the Tweet you'd like to share. (Note: this only works if the Tweet is much shorter than 140 characters. We recommend using the official Retweet button.)
- Open a new Tweet box and paste the content into the message.
- Add the letters RT and the Tweet author's @username to show that it's a Retweet and isn't your own content.
- Add your comment at the beginning of the message.
- Click Tweet to post the message to your followers.
- Note: You can undo a Retweet with comment by deleting it. Read more here.
Having trouble?
Click here to view our troubleshooting articles about Tweets.

